There Once Was a Schoolhouse…
In far west Mills County, at the intersection of Farm Roads 573 and 574, sets a forlorn 1930’s-era clapboard two-room schoolhouse. The area around the schoolhouse was originally settled in the 1890’s and named Cold Springs. But a post office was established in 1915 by W.D. Aldridge, and the community was renamed Ridge, a moniker derived from the last syllable of Mr. Aldridge’s name.*
The roughly one-acre tract on which the structure sets was the gift of Curtis’ great-grandfather, J.E. Boyd, to the ranching community for the express purpose of building a schoolhouse. Not long after the schoolhouse was completed in 1931, World War II broke out and nearby Camp Bowie acquired the property to conduct military maneuvers. Incidentally, Curtis’ mother, Beulah Lois (“Patty”) Pafford Roberts, and her older sister, Melva “Joan” Pafford Noland, attended 3rd and 2nd grade classes here!


sweeping up

sign

classroom

school house